Sometimes I choose a movie to wach because it’s popular.  Sometimes because I’m in the mood for it. A few times because I’m up for anything and it’s the only one availble that I can stomach.  Most of the time, though, it’s because I feel like it.  My instinct rarely steers me wrong, except when I doubt it and don’t listen to it and try to be only logical, and do what would seem right to everyone else while ignorning all of my instincts screaming at me.

Yes, it does sound like a slightly intense way of picking a movie.  But, it works for me.  That’s how I ended up watching Dan in the Real Life this morning. On instinct, I hit the order button on my DirectTV remote and enjoyed. In the comfort of my super soft blanket.

Oh, there have been long, long segments of my life when I would have shuddered at the thought of still being in my pajamas, lying in bed and watching a movie in the (gasp) mid morning hours.  

So not what you are supposed to do with your time, right?!

Well, I did it.  And it was awesome.

I’ve actually been doing things a lot differently than you are supposed to lately.

I made and had Apple Pie Crisp with REAL home made whip cream the other night, for dinner.  I’ve been having real whipped cream every night, truth be told, on whatever I want, for a month or so.

I bought (three) abstract shape coloring books from Whiz Kids and new markers, all for myself.  Then I colored.  For a long time.  When there were a million other things that could have been accomplished.

I let the floors in my house sit for another week, making it a month since they’d been cleaned, while I worked on a song that had been sitting on the page, on my piano, waiting for a melody. Both turned out with immensely satisfying results.  I listened to myself about the when.  

Timing is, as they say, everything.  

We all have that inner clock.  Our inner mechanism finely strung and set into motion the millisecond we leave the world of creation for this one of backwards growing.

The Apple Watch debuted earlier this week, and sold out.  I haven’t worn a wrist watch for about a dozen years or more. I used to, and I loved my watches.  More as a fashion asscessory at times.  My favorites, the Swatches, the Fossils, they all kept time artfully while simultaenously fulfilling my needs as a very meticulous watcher of time. I suppose only time will tell if or when I may sport an Apple watch of my own.

You can guess how I tell time now.  My I-phone has to be charged, or the microwave time has to actually be set.  Or I can turn on DirectTV to check it, too.  My kiddos were tutored in number and time keeping skills first simply by living in our twenty-first century digitally run home.

And then they’ve learned to tell time the ‘old fashioned’ way at school, but I also keep a “real” clock with ticking hands in each community room of our home.  I love items that have come before me, machines that existed before my children, and pieces that have been held over generations.  They all give me, give us, a sense of time.  A very real soundtrack to the passing of our days.

Looking through my Twitter feed, I discovered happily, has been a non-waster of time.  I jumped in with my handle this winter (@holliejoyjoy) and have found more interesting communities, links, stories, events, information and people than I have on any other platform to date. 

All social media sites can be time-wasting, energy-destroying, soul-sucking places to dwell.  And once you have been on any or all of these places, you find this truth, in your own way, your own time. Then, you decide what you can tolerate, and live with, and proceed with caution.  I like so much of what can be done, what does occur, and the incredible potential of our digital wi-fi connected lives.

I also equally hate what can be done, what does occur and the devesating potential of our digital wi-fi connected lives.  I’ve made peace with that fact that this is life in the age we live in.  So, I choose to travel the faster than light -speed world made of units of time that I have yet to grasp; on my terms, and on the surfboard of my creation.

That is how I came across a tweet about the 26th (an odd even-year celebration) anniversary of Say Anything.  It’s a movie that often gets overlooked in the epoch of epic Gen X (1961-1981ish) coming of age stories; Pretty in Pink, The Breakfast Club, St. Elmo’s Fire, Flashdance, Footloose, to name quite a few.  The movies that late Baby Boomers and early Millenials along with Generation Xers watched most likely on the big screen when the movie came out, or on a VHS in a VCR, rented most likely from a video store, which meant that to see either, you would have to drive and spend some cash (for real) to watch.  

There are maybe a handful or two movies that I can rewatch, and last night I realized that while watching even the badly cut/edited for commercial TV bleeped-over and free version of Say Anything, that there was a reason I still held a fondness for this particular flick.

Not only is it a smart, remarkably still current screenplay with some pretty memorable lines, it’s set in Seattle and surrounding environs, and the boom box scene is one for the rom-com ages. And Lloyd Dobler (Jon Cusack) undeniably stands among the best of all-time male romatic leads who forever give us unrealistic romantic relationship expectations.

Speaking of _ _ _ _ : (four letter word, has to do with “gets away from you when invovled in a deeply creative process”); I just noticed that the bus was going to be delivering my sweet Kindergardner any literal minute.  So, I threw on my prettiest running capris and adorable Zella top (insert prideful remark about how I got these for an amazing deal at Nordstrom Rack), left my hair to nature to do it’s best, grabbed the most organic, raw, bagged snack I could and walk/ran to the corner.

We have had some of the most gorgeous warm and cool, clouded and sunny spring days in Eastern Washington that I can remember.  I’ve been frustrated that I haven’t been able to fully be out and enjoying them all the past month.  As I soaked some of that sun in a few minutes ago I noted that the calendar reads the 16th today, which means ten days until the Race for the Cure Spokane run.  

I’m not a major nor even minor fundraiser, usually due to my time management skills. (That is not my favorite topic.) So, I run in support of and with my church’s women’s group (Whitworth Church), and of and with many cancer survivors and families and friends who’ve survived, but lost their loved one. 

There’s no way I’d miss this race, despite my out of running shape body, not just because my oldest son and motivator has ran with me for the four years I’ve participated with this hopeful event, but because people who have lost everything, who have lost the very battle with time, are there, doing whatever they can to buy time, for others.

It didn’t take long this morning, into Dan In Real Life, to realize that I indeed had watched it before.  It just had been about seven years ago.  Watching it with fresh eyes, I caught so much more than I had in my first sleep deprvied distracted viewing.  There is much to like about this movie; the soundtrack, the kids, the setting, Steve Carrell as Dan, the story.  At it’s heart, is really a story about the pulsing dance of timing and love and life.  And how much of the time, waiting is an act of love.

Because there is simply no way to stop time, is there.  If there was, we would have all used up our alloted minutes on our time-hold plans to grab back that one conversation, to spend just one more mintue holding that one person, to say the words you have been wishing you’d said in that one moment.

As with all things we cannot control or fully understand or truly define, we spend alot of time insisting that we can tame this elusive unknown, while it insists just as strongly that we do not own the valuable currency that it is. Nor do we know how to spend, save or invest it effectively enough.

I’m hopeful though. The days like today, the moments I mentioned earlier, the time I spend just enjoying what I’m doing, who I’m with, they, in effect, make up for lost time.  Or what seemed at the time lost-like. However. I’ve seen time change everything; memories, directions, hearts and minds.

Time in real life isn’t tethered to an ever repeating circle of space, it’s free and flexible and limitless, wound and repaired in the hands of the Time Keeper. 

And that means that there are endless possibilities for how our days, years, lives add up. We’ve got plenty of time.

Time Warped-interesting thoughts on time perception.

2 thoughts on “do you have the time?

  1. Great post! It is amazing what can happen when we take a moment. So often we feel we cannot, and we do not until something happens that forces us to take that breather, and by then you come to resent the event as opposed to appreciating it, I don’t know if I have any apples, but I would love to make an apple pie crisp with REAL whipped cream!!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk!

